Delhi recorded a big win against hosts Chattisgarh

Goa defeated Puducherry 11-0

Delhi and Goa registered huge wins in their opening matches in Group B of the Swami Vivekananda U-20 National Men’s Football Championship at the Ramakrishna Mission Ashrama Ground in Narainpur, Chhattisgarh, on Thursday, May 2, 2024.

While Delhi defeated hosts Chhattisgarh 6-1 in the opening match of the day, Goa went one better by giving Puducherry a tough football lesson with an 11-0 win.

Delhi defeated Chhattisgarh 6-1 in the opening match of the day, in an encounter where the scoreline did not accurately reflect the balance of the game itself. Despite coming out on top, Delhi had to sweat for much of the first half as they were unable to break through the tough Chhattisgarh defence. The relief came in the form of Manish Kumar Kowachi’s rash tackle on Jajo Prashan in the box in the 35th minute. Ramesh Chhetri converted from the spot to give Delhi the lead.

That goal opened the floodgates for Delhi, who added three more in the next nine minutes of half-time through Prashan (40′), Himanshu (42′) and Rituraj Mohan (45′+3′). Kamginsei Touthang (71′) and Pasoulunii Veinii (78′) added two more in the second half to help them to an easy win. Ravu Kurmi scored host Chhattisgarh’s only goal in the 75th minute.

In the second match of the day, Goa sealed their authority over the group with a comprehensive 11-0 thrashing of Pondicherry. Six different players scored the goals for Goa. The attack started in the second minute when Vedant Naik opened the scoring. Naik scored a second in the 44th minute of the match.

The real star of the match, however, was Velrose Velli Dias, who scored a first-half hat-trick in stoppage time of the first period, a goal in the 23rd minute and two more goals. Second-half substitute Soham Nagvekar also got a hat-trick with goals in the 54th, 84th and 88th minutes of the match.

Goa’s other goalscorers were Rui Carlo de Piedade Noronha (12′), Macnelle Dias (68′) and Adarsh ​​Raj (76′).

Group D starts on Friday, May 3 when Kerala takes on Gujarat at 7:30 AM, followed by Haryana taking on Andhra Pradesh at 4:00 PM.

Follow Khel Now on Facebook for more updates, Tweetand Instagram; download the Khel Now Android app or IOS app and join our community on Telegram.