Jadumani and Ajay shine as four Indians advance to the semi-finals

ASTANA: Indian boxers Mandengbam Jadumani Singh, Nikhil, Ajay Kumar and Ankush recorded impressive wins on Thursday to advance to the U-22 men’s semi-finals at the 2024 ASBC Asian U-22 and Youth Boxing Championships in Astana, Kazakhstan.

Jadumani led India with a convincing 5-0 over Bhutan’s Phuntsho Kinley in the 51kg quarter-finals. Nikhil (57kg) put on a similar display of dominance to register a 4-0 win over Bakhtiyorov Ayubkhon of Uzbekistan as India continued their winning momentum.

Ajay (63.5kg) and Ankush (71kg) won their respective fights after the referee stopped the match (RSC). Ajay won the first round fight against Damdindorj P of Mongolia, while Ankush completed his match in the third round against Lee Ju Sang of Korea.

Meanwhile, Ashish fell 2-3 to Mongolia’s Oyun Erdene E in the quarter-finals of the men’s 54g.

The U-22 semi-finals will be played on Saturday.

Dhruv Singh (80kg), Guddi (48kg) and Poonam (57kg) will be in action in the U-22 quarter-finals later tonight.

Late on Wednesday, Aryan (92kg), Nisha (52kg), Akansha Phalaswal (70kg) and Rudrika (75kg) won their respective quarter-finals in the youth category.

The 22 Indian youth boxers, including 10 men, will compete in the semi-finals on Friday.

Brijesh Tamta (48 kg), Aryan (51 kg), Sagar Jakhar (60 kg), Yashwardhan Singh (63.5 kg), Sumit (67 kg), Priyanshu (71 kg), Rahul Kundu (75 kg), Sahil ( 80 kg), Aryan (92 kg) and Lakshay Rathi (+92 kg) will fight in the men’s section, while Annu (48 kg), Laxmi (50 kg), Nisha (52 kg), Tamanna (54 kg), Yatri Patel (57 kg), Nikita Chand (60 kg), Shrushti Sathe (63 kg) In the women’s division are Parthavi Grewal (66 kg), Akansha (70 kg), Rudrika (75 kg), Khushi Pooniya (81 kg) and Nirjhara Bana (+81 kg) in action.

The prestigious tournament witnessed high-level action with the presence of over 390 boxers from over 24 countries, competing for medals in 25 weight categories.

The finals for the youth and U-22 categories will be played on May 6 and 7 respectively.